d-tools logo Ring logo Savant logo Sony logo Vanco logo Zappiti logo Zappiti logo

CTA Announces 2019 Executive Board and Board of Industry Leaders

The Consumer Technology Association (CTA) has appointed its 2019 board members, including Michael Fasulo of Sony and Bridget Karlin of IBM.


Today, the Consumer Technology Association (CTA), a leading tech trade association and owner and producer of CES announced the election of its 2019 Executive Board (EB) and Board of Industry Leaders (BIL) during CTA's Innovate Celebrate event in Boston, co-hosted by Established. 
“We are thrilled to have such a respected, diverse and intelligent group leading us,” said Gary Shapiro, president and CEO, CTA.

“Our board members serve a vital role in helping shape CTA's strategic direction and overseeing our services and programs including CES. I welcome, congratulate and thank these leaders for their election and agreeing to volunteer their time to serve the technology industry and promote the importance of innovation.”

Executive Board and Board of Industry Leaders Selections

According to the announcement, Michael Fasulo, president and COO at Sony Electronics, will serve as EB chairman; Bridget Karlin, vice president and global CTO at IBM, and Fred Towns, president at New Age Electronics, will serve as board vice chairs.

2018 EB members who will continue to serve are Randy Fry, Fry's Electronics; former EB chair David Hagan, Boingo Wireless; Dan Pidgeon, co-founder of Starpower; Pat Lavelle, VOXX International; John Penney, 20th Century Fox and Joseph Stinziano, Samsung Electronics America. 

The newest members of the board are Melissa Andresko, communications director & spokesperson at Lutron; Stephanie Dismore, vice president & general manager of Americas Channels at HP Inc.; Sally Lange, vice president of National Retail at Sprint; Mike Mansuetti, president of Robert Bosch LLC; and Dr. Carmichael Roberts, partner at North Bridge Venture Partners.

Read Next: CTA Mid-2018 Report—Smart Speakers, 4K TVs to Reach $17B+ in Combined Revenue

Gary Shapiro continues to serve on the EB, along with Glenda MacMullin, COO and CFO, CTA, serving as treasurer; and Kara Maser, deputy general counsel, serving as secretary.

Along with the announcement of the 2019 Executive Board, CTA also announced the newest members of the BIL—experienced leaders from CTA's member companies who have broad experience in the consumer technology sector and represent the industry's interests.

The BIL serves CTA and the Executive Board in an advisory role, supporting public policy and association activities. Since it's a much longer list, to see the full list of BIL members, click here.